UBC Okanagan recognizes Jannik Eikenaar with a Teaching Excellence and Innovation Award

Prof. Jannik Eikenaar

Jannik Eikenaar is a passionate teacher who is dedicated to supporting his students and making the School of Engineering’s learning spaces more inclusive, diverse, and engaging. He is a difference-maker not only in his own classrooms but also those of his colleagues.

The UBC Okanagan Teaching Excellence and Innovation Award recognizes teaching excellence and innovation at Okanagan campus.  Successful award winners are exemplary role models who have and will continue to have significant impact on the culture of teaching and learning on the Okanagan campus and beyond.

Dr. Eikenaar’s positive approach to teaching is both impressive and inspiring. As his recent appointment as one of the inaugural Marshall Bauder Professors in Experiential Learning and Leadership demonstrates, Dr. Eikenaar is successfully building on the experiences within his classrooms to lead in both our School and our Faculty.

He consistently demonstrates excellence by engaging his students through innovative, active learning strategies and activities while modeling respectful engagement and fostering an inclusive learning environment. Dr. Eikenaar also promotes the idea of psychological safety in teamwork, allowing students to feel they are able to contribute effectively in a group work environment. He serves as of the School’s two Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Advisors.

Dr. Eikenaar began teaching at the School of Engineering in 2014 as an Instructor. He regularly teaches required courses in Engineering Communication and Technical Communication at the Year One and Year Two levels, including for the Vantage College Applied Science cohort, and occasionally teaches a graduate-level elective.

His contributions to teaching on campus were judged as outstanding in a field of exceptional nominees. In recognition of receiving this award, Dr. Eikenaar will be recognized at the Teaching Awards Ceremony during UBC’s Celebrate Learning Week which takes place online between May 17th and May 23rd.

At the event other School of Engineering instructors and teaching assistants will be recognized. Tina Olfatbakhsh, Reza Sourki, & Sandun Tharaka Wanniarachchi will be award Provost Teaching Assistant & Tutors Excellence Awards. Mehran Shirazi, Peyman Yousefi and Yang Cao will be recognized for championing accessibility & wellbeing in the classroom.


This announcement originally appeared on the School of Engineering (Okanagan) website in the .

UBC Crest The official logo of the University of British Columbia. Arrow An arrow indicating direction. Arrow in Circle An arrow indicating direction. Caret An arrowhead indicating direction. E-commerce Cart A shopping cart. Time A clock. Chats Two speech clouds. Facebook The logo for the Facebook social media service. Home A house in silhouette. Information The letter 'i' in a circle. Instagram The logo for the Instagram social media service. Linkedin The logo for the LinkedIn social media service. Location Pin A map location pin. Mail An envelope. Telephone An antique telephone. Play A media play button. Search A magnifying glass. Arrow indicating share action A directional arrow. Speech Bubble A speech bubble. Star An outline of a star. Twitter The logo for the Twitter social media service. Urgent Message An exclamation mark in a speech bubble. User A silhouette of a person. Vimeo The logo for the Vimeo video sharing service. Youtube The logo for the YouTube video sharing service. Future of work A logo for the Future of Work category. Inclusive leadership A logo for the Inclusive leadership category. Planetary health A logo for the Planetary health category. Solutions for people A logo for the Solutions for people category. Thriving cities A logo for the Thriving cities category. University for future A logo for the University for future category.