Chairs & Professorships

Significant indicators of Applied Science’s high-calibre research activity are its number of research chairs and professorships. Each of these prestigious appointments has been made by either industry or government to individuals within the faculty with whom these funding bodies have the utmost confidence. Their mandate in all cases is to advance the frontier of knowledge within their fields in areas identified as of the utmost critical concern to industry and/or society.

Endowed Chairs

  • Rio Tinto Chair in Materials Process Engineering - Warren Poole
  • Arcelor Mittal Dofasco Chair in Advanced Steel Processing - Matthias Militzer
  • Chair in Computer Integrated Design and Construction - Alan Russell
  • Chair in Hydrometallurgy - David Dreisinger
  • Chair in Mining and the Environment
  • Charles A. Laszlo Chair in Biomedical Engineering - Tim Salcudean
  • James Taylor Chair in Landscape and Liveable Environments - Patrick Condon
  • J. Armand Bombardier Chair in Sustainable Urban Transportation Systems
  • Patrick Campbell Chair in Mechanical Engineering Design - Peter Cripton
  • TELUS Communications Inc. Chair in Advanced Information and Communications Technology Engineering - Panos Nasiopoulos

Canada Research Chairs (CRC)

Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC)

  • NSERC Chair in Design Engineering - Philippe Kruchten
  • NSERC Associate Chair in Design Engineering - Antony Hodgson
  • NSERC Chair for Women in Science and Engineering, BC and Yukon Region - Elizabeth Croft - term completed
  • NSERC/PMC-Sierra Chair in High Speed Microelectronic Circuits - Resve Saleh - term completed
  • NSERC/Pratt & Whitney Chair in Virtual High-performance Machining - Yusuf Altintas
  • NSERC/Pratt & Whitney Associate Chair in Virtual High-performance Machining - Steve Feng - term completed
  • CIHR/PHAC Chair in Applied Public Health Research (2008-2013) - Elizabeth Saewyc

Endowed Professorships

  • Elizabeth and Leslie Gould Teaching Professorship in Chemical Engineering - Bhushan Gopaluni
  • Engineering Physics Professorship in Communications and Networking - Cyril Leung
  • Methanex Professorship in Clean Energy Systems - Walter Mérida
  • Midnet and Dolby Professorship in Digital Multimedia - Panos Nasiopoulos
  • FP Innovations Professorship in Pulp and Paper Engineering - James Olson
  • Advanced Papermaking Initiative - Mark Martinez