UBC Applied Science profs named Distinguished University Scholars

Distinguished University Scholars

Three UBC Applied Science professors — Dr. Curtis BerlinguetteDr. Rehan Sadiq and Dr. Elizabeth Saewyc — have been appointed Distinguished University Scholars at the University of British Columbia.  

The honour, which is conferred by the president of UBC every two years, aims to recognize "exceptional members of faculty who have distinguished themselves as scholars in research and/or teaching and learning.” 

Dr. Berlinguette, a professor of chemical and biological engineering and chemistry, is developing advanced clean energy materials and technologies using artificial intelligence and other tools. Dr. Sadiq, executive associate dean of the School of Engineering, conducts leading research on water quality, environmental risk and asset management of civil infrastructure systems. Dr. Saewyc, director of the UBC School of Nursing, leads the Stigma and Resilience Among Vulnerable Youth Centre, where research is focused on the effects of stigma, violence and trauma on the health of marginalized young people. 

Distinguished University Scholars are internationally recognized faculty members who have made significant impacts in their respective fields. They possess a superior record in attracting and supervising students and trainees, and their scholarly plans for the next five years must be “innovative, original and of high quality.” 

This year, ten Distinguished University Scholars were appointed by Professor Santa J. Ono, president and vice-chancellor of UBC, on the recommendation of an adjudication panel. Appointees will receive a stipend of $20,000 for each of five years, plus one-time research support in the amount of $20,000.